baking

Bake with Ellie: Prosecco and Strawberry cakes… GO WRONG!!!

Some of you may have seen my snapchat story and know that Becca and I attempted to make prosecco and strawberry cakes. They went horrifically wrong…
Prosecco and Strawberry cakes sounded like a great idea… at the time. I commented to Becca that I felt like Mary Berry. As a prosecco advocate, incorporating my favourite drink into one of my favourite foods, cake, seemed revolutionary. We decided that our best bet would be to glaze the cakes with prosecco and add it in the icing rather than cook all the alcohol off in the cake (we love our booze!)
I’m going to take you through our recipe step by step (so you may attempt to make these and do a lot better than Becca and I!) and tell you all the det’s of our horrific failure.

We started off compiling the ingredients.


You will need:
• 175g unsalted butter, softened.
• 175g caster sugar
• 3 large eggs
• 175g self-raising flour
• 1 tsp baking powder
• 1 tsp vanilla extract
• 3 tbsp milk
• 12 strawberries
(The prosecco comes in later!)

Preheat the oven to 170 degrees. Line a baking tray with fairy cake or cupcake cases (up to you depending on size of your tray).


Whip the butter and sugar together until nice and creamy.
Add the eggs one at a time mixing between each addition.


Add half the flour and mix.

Add the milk followed by the rest of the flour and the baking powder.


Mix until combined then mix in the vanilla extract.

Fill each cupcake case full to around 2/3 full. We found using an ice cream scoop was the best way to do this but a spoon will work too.

Bake for 20 minutes until risen and springy when touched.

Let them cool for 5 minutes before moving them to a cooling rack.


Once the cupcakes have cooled slightly brush the tops with prosecco (we used Waitrose San Leo! The best!!!). It will act like a glaze and harden the top of the cake.



Take a small knife and cut a little cone shape out of the top of the cake and pop in a Strawberry. I like to go prosecco over board so I infused the strawberries with prosecco. Yum yum.


That all went swimmingly well as you can tell…

Our difficulty came with the icing. I was so determined for these to go well. So far it had gone brilliant, my first ever cakes that had actually ever risen.

We began the icing. This is where it all got a bit shitty…
The recipe started that for buttercream icing we needed 125g of unsalted butter and 300g of icing sugar. We decided to add 100ml of prosecco to this mixture…

Basically, don’t do this… We spent about 20 minutes trying to thicken the mixture up. We tried everything. It was stupidly runny and going everywhere. It just wouldn’t stiffen however hard we tried. I ended up adding the whole box of icing flour and it just wouldn’t go. My arm was literally falling off. ‘It will just go stiff if we keep mixing it, just like whipping cream’ I said.

We decided to google how to make your icing thicker. Now, I do ask you kindly to not judge myself and Becca on our idiocy, stupidity and how much of knobs we are. We decided to add flour to our icing to thicken it up because that is what my Dad adds to his gravy to make it thick.

Yes, ladies and gents… we decided to add SELF RAISING FLOUR to our buttercream icing. So off we went, we added about 5 large tablespoons. And yes, it thickened up. When we didn’t like the consistency we added even more till it was pipping quality.

I decided to add a touch more prosecco in in case the boozy quality had disappeared. I added more in still thinking that I was a Michelin chef. At one point I even contemplated telling you guys my tips for making your icing thicker on my snapchat, just add bloody flour.

So obviously, our concoction tasted pretty sickly and disgusting when we dipped in for a taste test. It was so inedible that we ended up chucking it out and leaving them with a prosecco glaze.

10/10 for the cakes. Not too sure about the icing though…


So yes, in summary, me and Becca are very stupid. We can’t bake and I don’t know if I’ll attempt a post like this again. Gordon Ramsay would not be impressed.

Time for a cup of tea and a cake I think.
If anyone has any tips on how to make your icing thicker then pop it down in the

comments below. Basically, I suck.
Eleanor X

Leave a Reply

